Skip to main content

Eugene Symphony - C3: Creativity / Rachmaninov's Second

Silva Concert Hall

Get Tickets

Tickets starting at: $10.00

Francesco Lecce-Chong, conductor 

Daniel Hsu, piano* 

Tan Dun: Secret of Winds and Birds
Matthew Browne: Symphony No. 1 (PNW Premiere, Eugene Symphony Co-Commission)
*Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 2 


This is the first of three interlinked concerts that highlight how individual creativity creates connections between us, which then help forge a community. We hear Sergei Rachmaninov’s epic and inventive Second Piano Concerto, which brought him back from the brink of writer’s block that threatened his career. Before it, we inaugurate our four-year “First Symphony Project” with a new work by Composer-in-Residence Matt Browne. And to begin, we bring the audience into the act, as Chinese master Tan Dun’s short work includes the sound of wind and birdsong that you’re invited to play from your own smartphone while the orchestra plays onstage. 

Presented by Eugene Symphony

Tickets start at $25

Please note: this event is being sold at full capacity unless otherwise indicated. Click Here for information on venue safety precautions.