Skip to main content
Prokofiev's Romeo & Juliet cover art

Eugene Symphony: Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet

Sold Out

Joseph Young, conductor 

Pallavi Mahidhara, piano


Lera Auerbach: Icarus 

Saint-Saëns: Piano Concerto No. 2 

Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet 


William Shakespeare’s tale of star-crossed lovers has inspired many musical settings, including operas, overtures, and ballets. Sergei Prokofiev’s interpretation brings out the hope of love and the agony of loss, taking us all on a moving emotional journey. Russian composer Lera Auerbach’s retelling of the myth of Icarus, whose audacity took him too close to the sun, is captivating and fresh. In between, Camille Saint-Saëns’s Concerto has the perfect balance of virtuosity and heart, played by pianist Pallavi Mahidhara, whose performance of George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue in 2019 brought our audience to their feet. 

Presented by Eugene Symphony